2016年1月13日 – Yosuga no Sora update – Nao’s route translation complete

Just a quick post, since I received an awesome message from Shi0n – Nao’s route translation is complete and in translation check phase (1%). Current stats are here:

  • Sora8288/8288 (100.00%)
  • Nao: 7311/7311 (100.00%)
  • Akira: 7890/8793 (89.73%)
  • Kazuha6634/6634 (100.00%)
  • Motoka: 2372/6261 (37.89%)
  • Common2096/2096 (100.00%)

Total: 34591/39383 (87.83%).

The patch is out on #xilexio@irc.rizon.net.

46 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

46 responses to “2016年1月13日 – Yosuga no Sora update – Nao’s route translation complete

  1. Hugo

    Nice news, ow I hope Akira route gets translated soon also.
    Anyway keep it up, and thank you.

  2. KainLegacy

    Ohhh yeah, keep it up!

  3. Anonymous

    Whoa, finally, thank you

  4. Tes

    The Lord and Savior has returned, and found us, his subjects, worthy.

    Praise be.

  5. Andru

    You guys are AMAZING!

  6. elois_uchiha

    Thks guys!!!! waiting for motoka translation…

  7. Cheetar

    Thank you!!! I couldn’t wait Nao’s route to be finished! She is my favorite!!! =) You are the best! 😀

  8. Leo

    Awesome news!!! 😀 Thanks so much, you guys are absolutely amazing!

    With Akira’s route tantalizingly close as well, perhaps the fans can start dreaming about the full translation release 😛

  9. Cangak

    Sorry if my question sound dumb, but how do you download the patch? And thank you for your hard work, you guys are truly the best!

  10. Kiwi

    Awesome. Good to see that there is progress! Thx, this is good news!

  11. Raith

    How’s progress on editing the other routes been? Last I played through Sora’s route there was still a bit of rough word choice and sentence structure in some parts that could be smoothed out.

  12. Kabalist

    Cool! Thank you for all your hard work!

  13. happy new year! lol it’s been six years or so since i watched YnS airing and then found this project. keep it up guys.

  14. Corryn

    Are you guys planning on doing Haruka Na Sora when this project is finished? Or do you have something else lined up?

  15. Stert

    I just wanted to say thanks. I would donate if I could, but I understand you don’t take donations. You guys are awesome. I’ll be lurking for the full translation.

  16. Stert

    Less than 5000 lines to be translated. The anticipation is boiling over. I wish I could help make this happen. All I can do is thank the staff ;_;

  17. Kira

    No news on the next update?

    • Xilexio

      I’m gathering some info now from all people involved in the translation. I plan to make a sort of cleanup to see which parts need work. That involves few mails and merging few versions of our files. I will make a post after that.

  18. Glad to know that you keep trying. Take your time, we will wait patiently for your work.

  19. YAY!! It’s marvelous!
    A little more… only a little more…..
    Thank you a lot! \(^o^)/

  20. sdziscool

    You’re almost there guys, keep it up!

  21. Kira

    So…any news how things are going?

    Hopefully this won’t enter another 10 months limbo… 😦

  22. noel

    So… about that update…

  23. I don’t even know where to post this question anymore – please help me!
    I tried installing the VN three times, from two different sources, installed the English patch (god bless you for taking a duty as holy as this upon yourself)… but after the installation it only shows a black screen, there are no pictures at all, and there’s no sound at all.

    If anyone knows about this issue, or knows how to fix this issue, I would be thrilled to have your help to get this problem resolved, I really want to enjoy this VN.

  24. Kira

    It’s too bad but as experience taught me wherever you start experiencing trouble with finding time on hobby that requires some real effort JUST ONCE due to being too busy due to work/family matter/other hobbies or/and simple lack of motivation, then it will only get worse.

    So it looks like the release won’t happen before summer or even winter. With a 10 months release period being the norm(unless it goes into indefinite hiatus which is also possible) rather than the exception.

    Maybe Xilexio should look for someone to take over around here?

    • Hmmm, most translators we have are also busy with RL. I happen to be busy these past few days in work, so I haven’t been editing Nao’s script. It’s not because Xilexio is busy, it’s because everyone is. I really want to finish this VN all the way to HnS.
      Since I have a very little time to spare, spent on sleeping and eating, I think I’m getting a hang of my schedule. I’d be back editing Nao’s script in a few more weeks.
      I can’t say that if I’m active, a new patch will be released, but most likely, a new patch will be released if Xilexio finds time to fix the errors in the tools we have. I don’t know if he has, but let’s just hope for the best.
      I know it’s really frustrating for a fan not to understand Japanese and wait till the fan-translators finish their jobs, but don’t worry, eventually, I also do hope about this, that we finish it.
      Looking at the numbers at the other routes, it’s not likely it would be finished this year, unless a new translator or the translator for the route would do the honors and finish it this year.
      As for me, I can say that once I’ve finished editing Nao’s route, I can also edit the other routes that needs checking on their transliterations.

      shion

  25. Take your time, I pop in once every couple months to check, but otherwise not feeling impatient. 🙂 I don’t really have a choice in the matter anyway lol,

    For certain reasons, the ability to learn japanese will forever be out of my grasp, regardless of willingness to learn. =/

    Stil, you guys have been slogging along this far, I have faith you’ll keep to it~

  26. Minearm

    ”once every 1-2 months” 4Head

  27. totadu54

    hello, i hope we have a new post recently, but take your time to translate the VN, and thanks for your work 🙂

  28. nintesu

    Can anyone give me a link or lead me anywhere that I can find a guide to learn how to translate visual novels. I don’t mean just to play but to actually start translating. When the wife and kids go to bed I’m up all night and would like to start contributing back to those that worked an all the VN’s I have played. Tools that will let me translate and then place text into the actual game not a 3rd party program that just displays on the side.
    If any one can give me a link to start learning I would appreciate it.

    nintesu@yahoo.com

    • Xilexio

      It’s kinda hard to do everything at once yourself. There are two problem you will face: technical difficulties and translating.
      Visual novels do not have one standarized format for files with scenario, so you will have to find a specific tool for specific format. In case of YnS this is CSX file format. I think that usually each company has their own format, and even that changes over time. In other words, be prepared for a long search for tools to edit a specific game and be prepared that there might be none and you will have to find a hacker (somebody who will write that tool).
      As for translating, I heard from experienced translators that it’s even more important to know English well than Japanese. It’s more important to the end user that the text is written in a proper, easily readable English that also conveys the mood from the game properly, than it is to have a precise 1:1 translation. It’d be best if English was your native language or if you at least could write at a similar level.
      To not leave you hanging, here are some resources:
      http://forums.novelnews.net/ – pretty much a dead forum by now, but you can find quite a lot of info on how to start a VN translation project here.
      https://tlwiki.org/ – website on which you can find a lot of VN projects, tools for them, etc. Chance is, you will even find abandoned version of the VN you want to translate over there.
      – #tlwiki@irc.rizon.net – you can find a lot of VN translators here, many of them professional, though be prepared for frank comments. Of course you need to know how to use IRC. It’s a commonly used tool for communication in anime/vn/manga tl communities, it’ll come in handy. And most of those are on the server irc.rizon.net.
      https://tlwiki.org/index.php?title=Tools – specific subsite of tlwiki with the list of tools. Check here first. Especially AE VN tools are multi-purpose.
      If you’d like some more info, drop me a mail to xilexio.yns@gmail.com.

  29. datboi

    Any ‘news’ on the update?
    I appreciate what you guys are doing, you’re godsends.
    I’d love to help out, or maybe even donate, unfortunately, I hardly know any Japanese, and can only get a general understanding through Google Translate.

  30. ianarcher33

    Ganbatta

  31. Loki

    can i ask you one question? how to open yns.csx file to translate

Leave a Reply

